How is a protected area given an IUCN category?

How is a protected area given an IUCN category?

To be categorised as a natural monument or feature by IUCN’s guidelines, the protected area could include natural geological or geomorphological features, culturally-influenced natural features, natural cultural sites, or cultural sites with associated ecology.

Is IUCN a database?

The evaluations database contains all IUCN evaluations since 1994. External Reviews of IUCN as an organisation can also be accessed separately from the External Reviews tab on the left-hand navigation. For further information please contact [email protected].

What are the various categories of protected areas under different groups according to IUCN?


  • Category Ia: Strict Nature Reserve.
  • Category Ib: Wilderness Area.
  • Category II: National Park.
  • Category III: Natural Monument or Feature.
  • Category IV: Habitat/Species Management Area.
  • Category V: Protected Landscape/Seascape.
  • Category VI: Protected area with sustainable use of natural resources.

What are the seven categories of IUCN?

IUCN Red List. International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN)…The 7 categories of IUCN Red List are as follows:

  • Extinct.
  • Extinct in the Wild.
  • Critically Endangered.
  • Endangered.
  • Vulnerable.
  • Near Threatened.
  • Least Concerned.

How many categories are in IUCN?

It divides species into nine categories: Not Evaluated, Data Deficient, Least Concern, Near Threatened, Vulnerable, Endangered, Critically Endangered, Extinct in the Wild and Extinct.

What do you mean by IUCN?

International Union for Conservation of Nature
IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature, was established on 5 October 1948 in the French town of Fontainebleau. As the first global environmental union, it brought together governments and civil society organisations with a shared goal to protect nature.

What is published by IUCN?

IUCN has one of the world’s most comprehensive ranges of authoritative publications, reports, guidelines and databases for conservation and sustainable development. We publish or co-author more than 100 books and major assessments every year, along with hundreds of other reports, documents and guidelines.

What are the different categories of protected areas?

There are 4 categories of the Protected Areas viz, National Parks, Sanctuaries, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves.

What are the different types of protected areas?

India has the following kinds of protected areas, in the sense of the word designated by IUCN:

  • National parks.
  • Wildlife sanctuaries.
  • Biosphere reserves.
  • Reserved and protected forests.
  • Conservation reserves and community reserves.
  • Private protected areas.
  • Conservation areas.