How many countries were part of the British Empire?

How many countries were part of the British Empire?

Already a member? * Including the United Kingdom, which has been counted as one country. This data does not include British overseas territories, or current overseas territories of other nations….

Year Number of present-day countries
1998 1
1997 2
1996 2
1995 2

What are the 14 countries under British rule?

The British overseas territories (formerly known as British dependent territories or Crown colonies) are: Anguilla; Bermuda; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; British Virgin Islands; Cayman Islands; Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; St …

What countries did England own?

The British Empire in the Nineteenth Century

  • Canada.
  • Australia and New Zealand.
  • India.
  • Africa.
  • Imperial Britain.

How many countries were in the British Empire 1914?

On every Continent The main ones were Australia, British Guiana, Burma, Canada, Egypt, India (then including what are now Bangladesh, Nepal, and Pakistan), Jamaica, New Zealand, Rhodesia, South Africa and Trinidad.

What countries do Britain still own?

The UK Overseas Territories are:

  • Anguilla.
  • Bermuda.
  • British Antarctic Territory (BAT) – ASSI has no direct responsibility in relation to BAT as the Antarctic Treaty takes precedence.
  • British Indian Ocean Territory.
  • British Virgin Islands.
  • Cayman Islands.
  • Falkland Islands.

What are the 7 Commonwealth countries?

The founding Commonwealth members were Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the United Kingdom. The Commonwealth Charter was adopted in 2012 – which committed members to the values of democracy, gender equality, sustainable development and international peace and security.

What countries did England rule?

How many British colonies are left?

14 former
Current territories Today 14 former colonies (since 2002 known as British Overseas Territories) remain under British rule; the term “colonies” is no longer officially used to describe these.

Which countries is Queen Elizabeth the head of state?

There are 14 countries outside of the United Kingdom where the queen is head of state: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, the Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St.

Is Australia under British rule?

The final constitutional ties between the United Kingdom and Australia ended in 1986 with the passing of the Australia Act 1986. Formal economic relations between the two countries declined following Britain’s accession to the European Economic Community in 1973.