Is French spoken in Tahiti?

Is French spoken in Tahiti?

The official languages of Tahiti and her islands are French and Tahitian. Although French is used in schools and business, the Tahitian language is still preferred by most islanders in their homes. English is well spoken in the tourist areas and resorts.

Is Tahiti still French?

Tahiti is the economic, cultural, and political centre of French Polynesia, an overseas collectivity and an overseas country of the French Republic. The capital of French Polynesia, Papeete, is located on the northwest coast of Tahiti.

Do Polynesians speak French?

French is the only official language of French Polynesia.

Does Bora Bora speak French?

The main languages in Bora Bora are French and Tahitian, but you’ll find that many people also speak English, especially resort employees.

What Pacific islands speak French?


  • French Polynesia.
  • New Caledonia.
  • Vanuatu.
  • Wallis and Futuna.

Why do they speak French in Tahiti?

All Tahitians are French citizens and many of the islands’ people, especially in Tahiti’s capital of Pape’ete, were born in France. French is the official language and the local currency is the French Pacific Franc.

How did Tahiti become French?

In 1880, France annexed Tahiti, changing the status from that of a protectorate to that of a colony. The island groups were not officially united until the establishment of the French protectorate in 1889.

Why do Tahitians speak French?

Can you speak English in Tahiti?

French is the official language in Tahiti but the locals also speak Tahitian. English is widely spoken and understood in most hotels, restaurants and shops.

Is Bora Bora or Tahiti better?

Tahiti is a more urbanized island and even though its beaches aren’t as famous as the ones in Bora Bora, it offers great shopping areas, nightlife, cultural events, and amazing outdoor activities. Bora Bora is the image that comes to mind when you think of paradise. It’s a more intimate and high-end island.

Is French spoken in Fiji?

Fiji has three official languages under the 1997 constitution (and not revoked by the 2013 Constitution): English, Fijian and Hindi. The Fijian language is spoken as the first language by most indigenous Fijians who make up around 54% of the population.

Recent Posts