What are seven divisions of Myanmar?

What are seven divisions of Myanmar?

Myanmar is divided into seven states (pyine) and seven divisions (yin). The States are (state capital in brackets): Chin State (Hakha) | Kachin State (Myitkyina) | Kayin also Karen State (Hpa-an) | Kayah, also Karenni State (Loikaw) | Mon State (Mawlamyine) | Rakhine State (Sittwe) | Shan State (Taunggyi).

How many divisions are there in Myanmar?

seven regions
The Republic of the Union of Myanmar comprises seven states and seven regions named in the 2008 Constitution, six self-administered zones and divisions, and one Union territory containing the capital Nay Pyi Taw and surrounding townships.

How many areas are there in Yangon?

Yangon Region consists of 4 districts and 45 townships. Of the 45, the city of Yangon now encompasses 33 townships.

What is the largest division in Myanmar?

Shan State
In terms of land area, Shan State is the largest and Naypyidaw Union Territory is the smallest….

Administrative divisions of Myanmar
Areas 7,054 km2 (2,724 sq mi) (Naypyidaw Union Territory) – 155,801 km2 (60,155 sq mi) (Shan State)

What is Myanmar Division?

Myanmar States and Regions. Note: Since 20 Aug 2010, Myanmar is divided into 7 Dyinè (States), 7 Taing (Regions) and the Naypyidaw Union Territory. The Regions and States are headed by a chief minister who is appointed by the President from among the regional and state legislature representatives.

Is Yangon and Rangoon the same?

Yangon is the largest city in Myanmar and the industrial and commercial centre of the country. It was known abroad as Rangoon until 1989, when the government of Myanmar requested that Yangon, a transliteration reflecting the Burmese pronunciation of the city’s name, be used by other countries.

Which township is the best in Yangon?

The Bahan Township is the best area in Yangon to stay in if you want a bit of peace and quiet. This genteel neighborhood is slightly to the north of the Downton are and is on the banks of the Kandawgyi Lake. This is where the richest people in Yangon live, so it’s filled with great restaurants, bars, and cafes.

What is the center of Yangon?

Downtown Yangon (also known as the Yangon Central Business District or Yangon CBD; formerly the Cantonment) is the central business district of Yangon, Myanmar, located close to the geographic centre of the metropolitan area. The area features many of the city’s major arts institutions and sports facilities.

What is the province of Yangon?

To the south, the province faces the waters of the Andaman Sea. To the west, it shares borders with the division of Ayeyarwady, and to the east the province is bordered by the province of Bago….Yangon Province, Burma Lat Long Coordinates Info.

Country Myanmar (Burma)
Category Provinces
Country Code MM
Zoom Level 8

Why did Rangoon become Yangon?

Where should I live in Yangon?

Most often, you will probably be around the Yankin, Dagon, Pazundaung, or Sanchaung areas – the latter is the expat hub of Yangon, so don’t be surprised if your job, house, or both will be in this area.