What are the four immeasurable minds?

What are the four immeasurable minds?

As a bodhisattva, the spirit of the Four Immeasurables – loving-kindness, compassion, joy, and equanimity – is something we need to cultivate in our heart each day….The Four Immeasurables

  • Loving-Kindness (Sanskrit: maitrī)
  • Compassion (Sanskrit: karuṇā)
  • Joy (Sanskrit: muditā)
  • Equanimity (Sanskrit: upekṣā)

What are the four Favourable abodes?

This meditative practice is adapted from the Buddhist Brahmaviharas, or Heavenly Abodes, sometimes called the Four Abodes of the Buddha, which are loving-kindness, compassion, joy in the joy of others, and equanimity.

What are the four divine qualities?

The four divine states are also known as the “Four Immeasurables” or the “Four Perfect Virtues.” In many Buddhist traditions the four states are cultivated through meditation….The four states are:

  • metta (loving kindness)
  • karuna (compassion)
  • mudita (sympathetic joy or empathy)
  • and upekkha (equanimity).

What are the four supreme virtues?

The four states are metta (loving kindness), karuna (compassion), mudita (sympathetic joy or empathy), and upekkha (equanimity), and in many Buddhist traditions, these four states are cultivated through meditation. These four states also inter-relate and support each other.

What are the four divine abodes what is its significance in Buddhist teaching?

The four brahmavihāras are known in English as the four divine abodes and the four immeasurables. There is benevolence or loving kindness (mettā), compassion (karuṇā), altruistic or sympathetic joy (muditā) and equanimity (upekkhā).

What are the 4 Jhanas?

Four stages, called (in Sanskrit) dhyanas or (in Pali) jhanas, are distinguished in the shift of attention from the outward sensory world: (1) detachment from the external world and a consciousness of joy and ease, (2) concentration, with suppression of reasoning and investigation, (3) the passing away of joy, with the …

Why are the 4 Noble Truths important?

The Four Noble Truths are the foundational tenets of Buddhism, which spark awareness of suffering as the nature of existence, its cause, and how to live without it. The truths are understood as the realization which led to the enlightenment of the Buddha (l. c. 563 – c. 483 BCE) and were the basis of his teachings.