What are the pre colonial constitution in Nigeria?

What are the pre colonial constitution in Nigeria?

Colonial era (1914–1960) The constitutions enacted during this period were the Clifford Constitution in 1922, the Richards Constitution in 1946, the Macpherson Constitution in 1951, and the Lyttleton Constitution in 1954. In 1946 a new constitution was approved by Westminster and promulgated in Nigeria.

What are the pre independence constitution?

Constitutional Development in Nigeria: Pre-independent constitutions and their main features, significance, limitations and criticisms. Mention the features of (a) Clifford’s constitution (b) Nigerian council (c) Richard’s Constitution (d) Macpherson’s Constitution (e) Lyttletton’s Constitution.

What are the stages of constitutional development?

The period of historical British Constitutional experiments in India can be divided into two phases: Phase 1- Constitutional experiment during the rule of the East India Company (1773-1857) Phase 2 – Constitutional experiments under the British Crown (1857-1947)

What are the five sources of Nigerian constitution?

Major Sources of Nigerian Law/Constitution

  • Written Constitution Document.
  • Organic Laws.
  • Judicial Decisions.
  • Customs and Conventions.
  • Writing of eminent Lawyers and jurists also act as a source ofthe constitution.
  • International Laws.
  • Independence and constitutional Conferences.
  • Historical Document.

What happened during the pre-colonial period in Nigeria?

The pre-colonial era saw the flourishing of slave trade, which was later declared illegal by the British in the early 19th century. Effective British occupation of Nigeria son followed the illegal declaration of slavery.

What are the types of constitution in Nigeria?

Here are the four (4) types of constitutions.

  • Rigid Constitution.
  • Flexible Constitution.
  • Written Constitution.
  • Unwritten Constitution.

How was the Constitution developed?

The constitution was drafted by the Constituent Assembly, which was elected by elected members of the provincial assemblies. The 389-member assembly (reduced to 299 after the partition of India) took almost three years to draft the constitution holding eleven sessions over a 165-day period.

Which law is considered as the beginning of constitutional development?

This article provides a brief overview of the development of the Indian Constitution, beginning with the Regulating Act of 1773 till the Constitution of India’s implementation in 1950 which is an important topic for both Prelims and Mains of the IAS Exam.

What are the features of Nigerian constitution?

Below are the features of the 1999 constitution of the federal republic of Nigeria:

  • Preamble.
  • Separation of power.
  • Presidential system.
  • Fundamental Human Rights.
  • Federalism.
  • Sovereignty.
  • Supremacy of the constitution.
  • Independence of the judiciary.

What are the 3 sources of constitution?

Sources of a Constitution

  • Opinions of political and constitutional writers.
  • Constitutions of other countries.
  • Customs and conventions.
  • Previous constitutions.
  • Decisions of a constituent Assembly.
  • Judicial Precedents.