What country currency is ZAR?

What country currency is ZAR?

South Africa
South African rand/Countries

What does ZAR currency stand for?

South African rand
The South African rand (ZAR) is the national currency of the country of South Africa.

How do you write ZAR currency?

The rand (sign: R; code: ZAR) is the South African currency. 100 cents make up one rand….

South African rand
Suid-Afrikaanse Rand (in Afrikaans)
Coins 10c, 20c, 50c, R 1, R 2, R 5
Banknotes R 10, R 20, R 50, R 100, R 200

What is ZAR code?

The South African rand, or simply the rand, (sign: R; code: ZAR) is the official currency of the Southern African Common Monetary Area: South Africa, Namibia (alongside the Namibian dollar), Lesotho (alongside the Lesotho loti) and Eswatini (alongside the Swazi lilangeni).

Why is the South African rand called ZAR?

The ZAR – South African Rand originates from the Dutch Zuid-Afrikaanse Rand. It’s name is taken from the area that had the most gold deposits in South Africa – Witwatersrand, the ridge upon which Johannesburg is build. As with all countries the currency is abbreviated as a code and in the Rands case it is ZAR.

How do you enter a full rand value?

In South Africa the convention is to use the decimal comma to separate whole numbers from decimal fractions. We use spaces to separate groups of three digits. So we write one million rand as R1 000 000,00.

Is the rand a fiat currency?

The rand is fiat money, and its conversion factor has 6 significant digits. The most popular South African rand exchange is with the US dollar. The rand is the 18th most traded currency in the world.

Is ZAR South African rand?

The South African rand (ZAR) is the currency of South Africa and is issued by the South African Reserve Bank. The South African rand has the symbol R. It is subdivided into 100 cents. The name is derived from the word ‘Witwatersrand’, which means ‘ridge of white waters’.