What is larceny in NJ?

What is larceny in NJ?

Larceny in New Jersey | NJ Criminal Lawyers. Larceny is a broad term that encompasses many different types of criminal theft. While many states use the term “larceny” in criminal codes to describe stealing, New Jersey uses the term theft instead.

How much is a felony for theft in New Jersey?

Penalties and Fines

Value of Goods Severity of Charge Incarceration
Less than $200 Disorderly persons offense Up to 6 months in jail
$200 to $500 Fourth-degree felony Up to 18 months in jail
$500 to $75,000 Third-degree felony 3 to 5 years in prison
More than $75,000 Second-degree felony 5 to 10 years in prison

How much is grand larceny in NJ?

A grand theft crime can range from a carjacking, which is a first-degree crime, to the taking of an item which is only slightly more than $200, which is a fourth-degree crime. Of course, a theft charge of any kind can carry serious consequences, including: Payment of fines, court costs and restitution. Imprisonment.

Is theft a felony in New Jersey?

A theft crime in New Jersey can be either an indictable offense (which would be considered a felony elsewhere) or a disorderly persons offense (which would be considered a misdemeanor elsewhere). A variety of factors play into to whether the theft is an indictable offense or a disorderly persons offense.

How much money do you have to steal to go to jail NJ?

What Theft Amount is a Felony? For a felony theft offense in NJ, the state will have to prove that the value of the item taken is greater than $200. Essentially, taking an item worth $201 will subject you to a fourth degree felony theft charge, up to 18 months in state prison, and up to $10,000 fine.

How much is grand theft in NJ?

What is third degree theft in NJ?

Theft constitutes a crime of the third degree if the value of the property or services involved is more than $500 but less than $75,000 or if the stolen property is: a firearm, motor vehicle, vessel, boat, horse, domestic companion animal, or airplane.

What is the statute of limitations on grand larceny in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, the general statute of limitations for “disorderly persons offenses” is one year, while the generic limitations period for “crimes” is five years….Statutes of Limitations in New Jersey.

Offense Statute
Receiving Stolen Property: 1 year or 5 years N.J. Stat. § 2C:1-6(b)(1), (2) (2022)

Is theft by unlawful taking a felony in NJ?

Similar to theft by deception, shoplifting and receiving stolen property theft by unlawful taking can either be an indictable offense or a misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances surrounding the incident in question.

How long does a prosecutor have to indict you NJ?

90 days
How Long Does a Grand Jury Have to Indict Someone? County prosecutors have 90 days from the date New Jersey charged you with a criminal offense to present evidence to a grand jury and receive an indictment against you. The state must try or resolve the case within 180 days of the date of the indictment.

Recent Posts