What was the War Merit Cross awarded for?

What was the War Merit Cross awarded for?

The War Merit Cross (or Kriegsverdienstkreuz in German) was a decoration of of Nazi Germany awarded to military personnel and civilians during the Second World War. It was created by Adolf Hitler in October 1939 as a successor to the non-combatant Iron Cross which was used in earlier wars.

Does the German army still give out Iron Crosses?

More than six decades after its end, though, Germany has reintroduced military honors: A politically correct, newly minted version of the Iron Cross – awarded to German soldiers since 1813, but withdrawn after the Second World War – was pinned on the chests of four senior non-commissioned officers yesterday.

What is the highest German military award?

The Bundeswehr Cross of Honour for Valour
The Bundeswehr Cross of Honour for Valour (German: Ehrenkreuz der Bundeswehr für Tapferkeit) is the highest military decoration of the Bundeswehr. It is the highest class of the Bundeswehr Cross of Honour. The decoration is the first combat valour award presented by Germany since World War II.

What is the German Iron Cross?

The Iron Cross (German: Eisernes Kreuz, listen (help·info), abbreviated EK) was a military decoration in the Kingdom of Prussia, and later in the German Empire (1871–1918) and Nazi Germany (1933–1945). King Frederick William III of Prussia established it on 17 March 1813 during the Napoleonic Wars (EK 1813).

How can you tell if German medals are real?

You can check by burning a thread to check for flammability or examining the ribbon under a black ultraviolet light. Man-made fabrics will glow brightly; cotton will not. Finally, take a hard look at all aspects of the medal with a loop or magnifying glass. All of the raised markings should be sharply struck.

What was the Iron Cross awarded for in ww2?

bravery in battle
The Iron Cross was awarded for bravery in battle as well as other military contributions in a battlefield environment. The Iron Cross 2nd Class came with a ribbon and the cross itself was worn in one of two different ways: From the second button in the tunic from the first day after award.

Recent Posts