Who must comply with Section 508?

Who must comply with Section 508?

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act (29 U.S.C. § 794d) requires federal agencies to develop, procure, maintain or use Information and Communications Technology (ICT) that is accessible to people with disabilities – regardless of whether or not they work for the federal government.

What is the difference between the ADA and Section 508?

Ultimately, ADA protects the civil rights of persons with disabilities participating in interstate commerce; whereas Section 508 is a set of regulations related to access to Government ICT. 508 compliance provides accessibility for digitally published material within government agencies and entities.

What is 508 and when would you use that?

Section 508 is the driving force within U.S. federal agencies. To put it plainly, if you are part of the U.S. federal government, you need to be Section 508 compliant. What that means is that agency websites, and the vast majority of internal communications need to be accessible.

Does Section 508 apply to private companies?

Does Section 508 Apply to the Private Sector? The straightforward answer to this question is no. Section 508 applies to federal agencies and doesn’t affect non-federal agencies or websites unless those entities are providing covered services or products to federal agencies.

How does Section 508 of the ADA Americans with Disabilities Act impact federal agencies?

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act specifically covers federal agencies but has an impact on the greater public. Section 508 requires federal departments or agencies that develop, procure, maintain, or use electronic and information technology, to ensure that the electronic and information technology is accessible.

What is Section 508 vs WCAG?

WCAG deals with web sites. Section 508 deals with all consumer technologies — this includes web sites, but also includes other technologies such as kiosks, etc.