Who won 2013 All-Ireland football final?

Who won 2013 All-Ireland football final?

The 2013 All-Ireland Football Final, the 126th event of its kind and the culmination of the 2013 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship, was played between Dublin and Mayo at Croke Park, Dublin on 22 September 2013. Mayo were defeated by Dublin by a single point on a scoreline of 2–12 to 1–14.

When did Mayo last win the GAA?

Farewell to a GAA legend: Final member of Mayo’s last All-Ireland winning team dies at the age of 95. Mayo’s 1951 All-Ireland winning team, with Paddy Prendergast third from right in the front row.

Did Mayo win the Gaelic football?

Mayo have not won the Gaelic football final for 70 years since they beat County Meath. Legend has it that a curse was placed on the team by an enraged priest after they apparently failed to pay their respects to a funeral they passed on their homecoming journey following the victory.

How much did Mayo beat Dublin by?

By Brian Barry at Croke Park. Mayo have inflicted further misery on Dublin with a 2-11 to 0-12 victory at Croke Park. It was a game that further highlighted the Dubs’ apparent demise and the task facing Dessie Farrell.

Are all the Mayo 1951 team dead?

The Curse of ’51 The priest supposedly put a curse on Mayo, that they would not win another title until all of the team had died. Since the deaths of Pádraig Carney in 2019 and Paddy Prendergast in 2021, only one member of the 1951 team remain living – Mick Loftus, though he was a sub and did not play on the day.

Did Mayo just beat the Dubs?

Mayo remain unbeaten after their second consecutive win over the Dubs at Croke Park.

How many All-Ireland finals did Mayo lose?

Most notably, Mayo have appeared in eleven finals since winning their last title in 1951, losing them all (1989, 1996 after a replay, 1997, 2004, 2006, 2012, 2013, 2016 after a replay, 2017, 2020 and 2021); this is the longest unbroken sequence of losing finals in the history of the competition.

Recent Posts