What does Wasi measure?

What does Wasi measure?

What is the WASI? The Wechsler Abbreviated Scale of Intelligence (WASI Test) delivers an estimation of a student’s general intellectual ability by measuring the verbal, nonverbal, and general cognition of individuals from 6 to 89 years of age.

What does WAIS consist of?

WAIS measures global or general intelligence and is commonly used by psychologists. It is divided into 2 parts: the verbal scale and the performance scale. Each of these 2 parts is further divided into subtests each of which taps a specific verbal or nonverbal skill.

What are the Wechsler subtests?

The verbal tests were: Information, Comprehension, Arithmetic, Digit Span, Similarities, and Vocabulary. The Performance subtests were: Picture Arrangement, Picture Completion, Block Design, Object Assembly, and Digit Symbol. A verbal IQ, performance IQ and full scale IQ were obtained.

What does Wasi II measure?

The Wechsler Abbreviated Scale of Intelligence® Second Edition, a revision of the WASI™, provides a brief, reliable measure of cognitive ability in clinical, educational, and research settings. WASI-II maintains the original format and structure but offers greater clinical utility and efficiency.

How do you read a Wasi score?

Standard Score Ranges for the WASI

  1. “Superior” Performance: 130 and beyond. Individuals who score in this range are considered to be in the superior or “gifted” range.
  2. “Very High” Performance: 120-129.
  3. “Bright Normal” Performance: 110-119.
  4. “Average”: 90-109.
  5. “Low Average”: 80-89.
  6. “Borderline Mental Functioning”: 70-79.

How many subtests does the WAIS contain?

The current version of the WAIS was released in 2008 and includes ten core subtests as well as five supplemental subtests.

What are the subtests of an IQ test performance?

These are called Verbal Comprehension, Visual Spatial, Fluid Reasoning, Working Memory, and Processing Speed. Each Index Scale is comprised of two subtests that together make up the scale result.

What do WISC subtests measure?

The WISC-IV measures intellectual ability of children from 6 to 16 years. It was developed to provide an overall measure of general cognitive ability, and also measures of intellectual functioning in Verbal Comprehension (VC), Perceptual Reasoning (PR), Working Memory (WM) and Processing Speed (PS).

What do WAIS-IV subtests measure?

It measures the retrieval from long-term memory of such information. This index reflects an individual’s ability to accurately interpret, organize and think with visual information. It measures nonverbal reasoning skills and taps into thinking that is more fluid and requires visual perceptual abilities.

Which is a performance subtest of the WAIS?

The Performance subtests were: Picture Arrangement, Picture Completion, Block Design, Object Assembly, and Digit Symbol.